Odile Labs (561) 375-2995Call

For businesses · compared

The best after-hours answering services in 2026, compared

Twelve services that answer your phone when you can't: people, AI, or AI with people behind it. Every price below comes from the company's own pricing page, read on 6 November 2026, and links to it. Where a company keeps its price behind a sales call, we say so.

We make one of the twelve, Odile After Hours. So we sorted them by what each is best for, and we put our method and the places ours falls short on the page.

Quick picks

All twelve at a glance

ServiceWho answersStarts atWhat that coversLanguagesTry it first
RubyPeople$250 a month50 receptionist minutesEnglish, plus 24/7 Spanish and bilingual handlingNo trial stated; talk to sales
PATLivePeople$49 a month plus $2.99 a minute, or $99 for 50 minutesAbout 20 calls on the $99 planEnglish, with bilingual support14 days free, no contract
AnswerConnectPeopleShown only after a contact formNot publishedNot statedNot published
AnswerFirstPeople$30 a month plus $1.60 to $1.95 a minuteEvery minute, billed by the secondNot stated30 days risk-free, no contract
Smith.aiAI, or peopleAI: $0 for 25 calls. People: $300 for 30 callsAI: $3 a call after 25. People: $11.50 a call after 30English and Spanish (a Spanish line is $1 a call on live plans)Free AI plan; 30-day money-back on live plans
UpfirstAI$24.95 a month30 calls, then $1.50 a call35+ listed14 days free, no card
RosieAI$49 a month250 minutesEnglish and Spanish7 days free
GoodcallAI$79 a month100 different callers, then 79¢ eachNot statedFree demo agent
DialzaraAI$29 a month60 minutes, then $0.48 a minute107 days free
My AI Front DeskAI$99 a month, or $79 billed yearly200 voice minutes, then $0.25 a minute20+7 days free
NextPhoneAI$199 a monthUnlimited calls and users147 days free
Odile After Hours (ours)AI$199 a month, or $29 on Solo400 calls; Solo up to 4032Free until it books your first job; Solo's first 14 days free

What 60 after-hours calls a month cost

One month of 60 after-hours calls, priced on each company's cheapest plan for it. Where a plan counts minutes, we assume 3 minutes a call, so 180 minutes.

Service60 calls a monthHow we got it
Rosie$49Professional covers 250 minutes
Upfirst$59.95Premium covers 90 calls
Goodcall$79Starter covers 100 different callers
Dialzara$86.60Business Lite $29, plus 120 extra minutes at $0.48
My AI Front Desk$99200 voice minutes cover 180
Smith.ai AI receptionist$105Free plan: 25 calls, then 35 at $3
NextPhone$199Pro, unlimited calls
Odile After Hours$199, and $0 until it books your first job400 calls included
AnswerFirst$318 to $381$30, plus 180 minutes at $1.60 to $1.95
PATLive$349The 200-minute plan
Smith.ai live receptionists$645Starter $300, plus 30 calls at $11.50
Ruby$720The 200-minute plan
AnswerConnectNot publishedPrice shown only after a contact form

Our arithmetic from each company's published prices, billed monthly, before taxes and add-ons, taking the cheapest plan at this volume. Goodcall counts different callers, so repeat callers cost nothing extra.

Each one, in short

Ruby

Live receptionists, sold as monthly bundles of minutes: $250 for 50, $395 for 100, $720 for 200 and $1,725 for 500. Scheduling and lead intake are included, with 24/7 Spanish and bilingual handling, and there are no setup fees. Best for a business that wants a person on every call. Watch: the page does not say what a minute costs past your bundle. ruby.com

PATLive

Live receptionists with a published price at every size: $49 a month plus $2.99 a minute, or bundles from $99 for 50 minutes (about 20 calls) to $6,899 for 5,000 minutes, with extra minutes from $2.29 down to $1.49. Appointment scheduling, intake and emergency dispatch come with every plan, and it lists Jobber among its integrations. Best for trying live answering with no contract: 14 days free. Watch: taxes and fees come on top. patlive.com

AnswerConnect

Live answering around the clock, with appointment scheduling among its services. Its prices appear only after you give your name, email and phone, so we could not compare them. answerconnect.com

AnswerFirst

Live answering billed by the second: $30 a month plus $1.60 to $1.95 a minute depending on how much you use, with no plan tiers, no overage fees, no contract and 30 days risk-free. Best when call volume swings month to month. Watch: the page does not say which usage earns which rate. answerfirst.com

Smith.ai

Two products. The AI receptionist is free for 25 calls a month, then $3 a call; Pro is $150 for 75 calls; English and Spanish come on every plan. Live receptionists start at $300 for 30 calls ($11.50 a call after that), with booking, text alerts and recordings sold as per-call add-ons and a 30-day money-back guarantee. Best for AI first with people available. smith.ai

Upfirst

An AI receptionist priced per call: $24.95 a month for 30 calls ($1.50 each after), $59.95 for 90, $159.95 for 300 and $299 for 600; paying yearly saves 20%. It lists 35+ languages and books into Google Calendar, Outlook, Calendly, Square and others. Best for low volume on a budget. We have not tested its languages. upfirst.ai

Rosie

AI answering by the minute: $49 for 250 minutes, $149 for 1,000 and $299 for 2,000, in English and Spanish. It books straight into your calendar from the $149 plan; the $49 plan texts a booking link. In our 18 October test, Rosie's own information line answered 1 of 5 non-English calls in the caller's language. heyrosie.com

Goodcall

An AI agent priced per different caller: $79 a month for 100 callers (79¢ each after), $129 for 500 and $299 for 2,000. It books into a connected calendar and texts you the lead as the call ends. Best when the same customers call often. Watch: the site lists no languages. goodcall.com

Dialzara

An AI receptionist priced by talk time: $29 for 60 minutes ($0.48 a minute after), $99 for 220, $199 for 500 and $349 for 1,000, in 10 languages, with calendar sync from the $99 plan. You edit its script yourself. In our 18 October test, Dialzara's own receptionist answered 0 of 5 non-English calls in the caller's language. dialzara.com

My AI Front Desk

Voice, web chat, texts and a CRM in one plan: $99 a month, or $79 billed yearly, with 200 voice minutes and $0.25 a minute after that, in 20+ languages. In our 18 October test, its demo line answered 0 of 5 non-English calls in the caller's language. myaifrontdesk.com

NextPhone

An AI receptionist at one flat price: $199 a month for unlimited calls and users, with no per-minute charges, or $299 if they build the agent for you. It speaks 14 languages, books into Google Calendar, Outlook, Calendly and others, and connects to Jobber, HubSpot and other CRMs. Best when you want no meter at all. getnextphone.com

Odile After Hours (ours)

$199 a month covers 400 answered calls, and it is free until it books your first job: if it books nothing in 30 days, you pay nothing. Solo is $29 for up to 40 calls, first 14 days free. It answers in 32 languages and follows a caller who switches mid-call, books into Google Calendar, Square Appointments or its own calendar, texts you each call as it ends with emergencies marked URGENT, and connects to HubSpot, Pipedrive, LeadConnector and Jobber. Where it falls short: at 60 calls a month, six of the AI plans above cost less, and it does not dispatch or quote prices. After Hours · pricing

Questions people ask

What does an after-hours answering service cost?

On the published plans above, 60 calls a month costs $49 to $199 with an AI service and $318 to $720 with live receptionists. Live answering costs more because a person is paid by the minute.

AI or a live person?

A person handles unusual calls and upset callers better. AI answers at once at any hour, books and texts you, and costs a fraction as much. Smith.ai sells both, if you want to start with AI and keep people on hand.

Can it book jobs?

Most of these can book into a calendar, but check which plan includes it: Rosie from $149, Dialzara from $99, and Smith.ai's live receptionists charge $1.50 a call for booking.

How did you compare them?

We read each company's pricing page on 6 November 2026, and a second reader checked every number against the page. Prices are monthly, before taxes. We did not test call quality for this page; our language test from 18 October 2026 is on the languages page, with every transcript.

Start freeHVAC shops: the HVAC roundup

Sources, read 6 November 2026: ruby.com, patlive.com, answerconnect.com, answerfirst.com, smith.ai AI receptionist, smith.ai pricing, upfirst.ai, heyrosie.com, goodcall.com, dialzara.com, myaifrontdesk.com, getnextphone.com. One by one: Smith.ai, Goodcall, Upfirst, Rosie, Dialzara, My AI Front Desk. Product names are their owners' trademarks.